I am not looking for your opinion on Common Law marriage, quite frankly I don't care if you don't believe in it. I am however, asking for the minimum requirement for Common Law in California.How long does a couple have to be together before they are considered to have a common law marriage?
Common Law Marriage FAQ
Common Law Marriage is not recognized in the state of California.
Learn what it is and where it's recognized.
Well... that didn't take very long, did it?
LOLHow long does a couple have to be together before they are considered to have a common law marriage?
California does not recognize common law marriages. Which mean that you cannot ever be common-law married. Either way, common law marriage is established when a man and woman cohabit and recognize themselves as husband and wife...as well as act as husband and wife in public. There is no time minimum for this. But, like I said, you are in CA...it does not exist. These states do:
District of Columbia
Georgia (if created before 1/1/97)
Idaho (if created before 1/1/96)
New Hampshire (for inheritance purposes only)
Ohio (if created before 10/10/91)
Pennsylvania (if created before 1/1/05)
I do not believe California has common-law marriage.
For states that do, it's 7-10 years living together /and/ you must /both/ present yourselves as husband %26amp; wife.
Just living together is not enough.
Common law marriage is recognized only in the following states:
* District of Columbia
* New Hampshire (for inheritance purposes only)
* Rhode Island
* South Carolina
First are you sure that California recognizes common law marriage? There are only a few states that do. I belive its 7 or 10 yrs.
Call your county offices and ask if anyone knows the answer. Or call a lawyer that deals with family issues.
California doesn't recognize Common Law marriage.
As far as I know the state of California does NOT recognize Common Law Marriages.
California doesn't recognize common-law marriage, period. Stop trolling and start Googling.
Common Law marriage is not recognized in California.
I believe the statute has it listed as 7 years
10 years, but your state may not recognize this law. Call and find out!
I believe it's 7 years. But that's redneck years.